This is the 100th post of the new version of the blog, so I decided to post something special: Trendy Jorge’s Style Profile.

Here are some of my personal choices and habits.

Job?
Lawyer, blogger and shopper (not necessarily in that order)

Best Sartorial advice from your parents?

Three very valuable lessons from my father:

Rule #1 – “Real style resides in proportion”;

Rule #2 – “Always check if your shirt isn’t wrinkled after you put on your jacket. There’s no excuse for non deliberate scruffiness”;

Rule #3 – “Always button your jacket when you’re standing. It defines a gentleman.”

Style icons?
The Italians: Gianni Agnelli, Sergio Loro Piana, Lapo Elkann, Luca Rubinacci

The British: Duke of Windsor, Jeremy Hackett

The Americans: Frank Sinatra/The Rat Pack, Steve McQueen, Cary Grant, JFK

My personal style

Sunglasses: Big frames (black, white, tortoise, green, electric blue, the whole rainbow…) I’m currently very keen on my Italia Independent private collection.

Shirts: Fitted. Hackett, D’Assenta, Borrelli Napoli and H&M (why not? They fit well and are so damn cheap)

Polo shirts: Colourful. Forniture Civili, Surface to Air and Polo Ralph Lauren

Denim: Levi’s 505 jeans and Wrangler shirts

Suit/Jacket: Italian cut. Piombo, Lardini, Boglioli. Some British tailoring from Gieves & Hawkes. And the American/Japan laidback cool of Engineered Garments and Haversack.

Ties: Too many. From Atollini to the Portuguese Vicri. I’m pretty sure I have them all.

Cufflinks: Sober, Burberry Prorsum. Racy, Paul Smith.

Watch: Big framed. Again, so many watches and only one wrist to wear them. I’m currently in love with the unpretentious Locman “Mare” (grey with black cordura strap).

Umbrella: Hate them!!! Do not own a single one. Well, maybe I’ve got one in my car, probably forgotten by someone.

Gloves: Luvaria Ulisses, Lisboa. Arguably the finest glove makers in Europe.

Shoes: All kinds, all Italian. Monks, mocs, laced, brogues, caps, … Lidfort, Arfango, Raparo, Bordese, …. Someday I’ll find the strength to splurge on Berluti.

Sport shoes: Italia Independent, Carshoe, Timberland, Vans and Puma.

I build my daily look around?
Activities for the day, weather and my own humour

Personal Style quirk?
Pocket squares (always and under any circumstance); colorful socks or no socks at all.


Most cherished item?
Pestana & Brito (a renowned Portuguese tailor) double breasted camel overcoat from my father and my first Lardini jacket, a white linen double breasted with huge lapels.

I feel best wearing?
A suit and tie or a peacoat with chinos.

The first thing I look at in another Sartorialist’s outfit …
1st: proportion, 2nd: colour combination, 3rd: shoes

I always break this fashion rule…
Almost all of them. And I don’t care. It’s style that counts, not fashion. Long live sprezzatura!

Never caught wearing?
White socks (except for sports)

Most underrated item in menswear?
Pocket squares

Dress to impress who?
Myself! The mirror! Everyone!

Shine your own shoes?
Only when there’s no alternative.

Shoetrees?
Always

Your next “must have” purchase?
Ronson vintage cigarette lighter

I skimp when buying…
T-Shirts

Favorite item of clothing
Shoes and jackets, I really can’t decide on just one.

Guilty pleasure
Bags, shoes and bracelets

Cologne, skincare?
Cologne: Tom Ford for men, Dolce & Gabbana, Chanel Allure Homme Sport
Skincare: Biotherm and Lierac

Most stylish city?
Milano

When I was in high school I wore?
Levi’s 505, Polo Ralph Lauren e Timberland. Real preppy, very Ivy League.

Sports?
Football/soccer, tennis and squash. But I’m thinking of re-embracing judo.

Favorite fashion magazine?
L’Uomo Vogue

Favorite vacation spot?
50% beach, 50% mountain. I need the fresh air

Favorite neighborhood restaurant?
Painel de Alcântara. Great food, amazing service. Very unpretentious. I even take my jacket off sometimes J (not really in my neighbourhood, but who cares?)

